If I ran the Oscars

Oh man, for the first time in my adult life I find that I haven’t been able to see even one of the movies nominated for the best picture Oscar. Not Milk, not The Reader, not Frost/Nixon, not Slumdog Millionaire and definitely not The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, which sounds so close to Forrest Gump that I refuse to see it on general principles, even if a trustworthy babysitter offered a free night of work, even if it is getting David Fincher all the bucks and attention he should have garnered with Zodiac.

Since I share a house with The Children That Do Not Sleep, and since The Woman Warrior and I haven’t gotten out much in last couple of years, a list of Best Picture nominees based on what gets played on the household DVD player would be Barbie and the Diamond Castle, Kung Fu Panda, Shrek the Third and whatever Pokemon video happens to be most current.

I did take the sprouts to see Wall-E and the other two best animated picture nominees at the local pithecanthroplex, and while Bolt and Kung Fu Panda have their charms, they simply don’t exist on the same artistic plane as Wall-E.

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “If I ran the Oscars

  1. geoff says:

    I’m woefully behind myself. I hope to see Frost/Nixon this weekend–it finally opened in B’more.

  2. Chucky says:

    You didn’t miss much, Steven. The Academy has a quota system: one gay martyr, one Holocaust movie, one dead politician, one exotic foreign locale, one 20th century author. Anything that doesn’t fit the quota gets left out.

    “Slumdog Millionaire” is on my s#!tlist for good reason. Al “All Mainstream Movies Suck” Nigrin booked it for his so-called “film festival” — and did so before the movie started playing in New Jersey. Guess what? It’s gonna be a mainstream movie this weekend.

    Besides, I’d rather see “Bride Wars” anyway.

  3. Scott Stiefel says:

    * Didn’t see The Reader
    * Would like to see Frost/Nixon
    * Liked Milk
    * Didn’t care much for Slumdog Millionaire
    * Can’t stand Benjamin Button

Leave a Reply

