Blue Monday

I’d never heard of Johnny Jenkins until I came across his version of “I Walk on Gilded Splinters,” the highlight of his Ton-Ton Macoute album. (Which actually started production as a Duane Allman solo album, as the Allman-intensive musician roster will show.) Turns out that Dr. John classic has been covered quite a few times, most recently by Paul Weller:

Here’s a version from . . . wait for it . . . Cher:

Oh. My. God. What else can you say?

As a palette-cleanser, here’s the studio version of Weller’s cover, set to the montage at the end of the fourth season of The Wire:  

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Blue Monday

  1. mikeb302000 says:

    Those are great videos of the famous Dr. John tune. I don’t know about anyone else, but for me, no one does it like him.

    I enjoyed the peek at Season 4 of The Wire. I’m just finishing Season 2 now. That’s the expat way. I’ve gotten used to being this far behind the times as far as movies and TV goes.

  2. Steven Hart says:

    Tell me about it — I’ve just started watching The Shield. I discovered the joys of DVD season boxes when The Sopranos got wobbly. Plus, when I’m really enjoying a show, I get to gorge on several episodes at a time.

Leave a Reply

