Late to the party

I realize this clip has been around the world via the Internets at least a thousand times by now, but I wanted to join in the fun. Ladies and gentlemen, open your minds and ears to the greatness that is William Shatner reading from Sarah Palin’s farewell speech:

Among Shatner’s career distinctions is to have starred in one of the only two feature films performed in Esperanto. That experience must have come in handy when it came time to translate Sarah Palin’s utterances into English.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Late to the party

  1. mikeb302000 says:

    I hadn’t seen that video. Thanks so much for posting it. I love anything to do with Shatner, so I thank you also for tipping me off to the Esperanto film, Incubus.

    The internet is so fantastic. So many things I missed along the way, I’m able to catch up on now. Your site is one that helps me do that.

  2. bookofvoices says:

    The funny thing is that, as homespun performance poetry goes, I’ve heard far worse than Palin’s speech.

    She fills the previously unnoticed gap between Frosty the Snowman and Robert Frost. Or maybe the Residents’ “Eskimo” and Vanilla Ice.

Leave a Reply

