New life, week one

So here I am at the end of the first week of my new life a a merchant, and I have to say I like it. It hasn’t been a restful week, but so far this agrees with me. The town has been without a bookstore for so long that people are greeting Nighthawk Books with open arms. It’s really been nice.

I stayed open during the Wednesday night snowstorm and had the main street more or less to myself, though the local Carvel tried to make a go of it for a few hours. The store attracted a steady stream of cabin-fever sufferers, who watched the flakes fall from the comfort of the window coffee bar. After the rush ended and the store emptied out with two hours to go before midnight, the place started to feel weird.

Then the Charlie Brown’s up the block closed and suddenly my store was full of interesting, tipsy people. A pleasantly drunk guy on his way to the Philly airport (good luck with that) had just finished The Ginger Man and wanted something in the same ballpark for the flight to Georgia. I ended up selling him a copy of Lucky Jim by Kingsley Amis,  after a long chat about Kurt Vonnegut.

The Tuesday opening was a “soft” opening. This Saturday, Feb. 20, will be our all-day grand opening. So far I’ve lined up readings by Mary McAvoy (author of Love’s Compass), Jeffrey Cohen (author of several mysteries) and plenty more besides.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

