A matter of tastes

After long consideration and deep thought, I have concluded that I simply don’t get the idea of bubble tea. I don’t get it at all.

Just so we understand each other, I’m talking about iced tea that comes in a plastic cup with little pearls of tapioca lying on the bottom. It comes with a very wide straw that allows the pearls to be sucked up along with the tea. So you’ll be enjoying your tea, and suddenly there will be this little blurtch of chewy pellets filling your mouth.

I mention this because I’ve been casting around for ways to sell bubble tea at the store, and it appears to be an expensive, labor-intensive product. On top of which, I don’t get it.

I like iced tea and I like tapioca pudding, but it never occurred to me to combine the two. The same goes for ice cream and Swedish meatballs, or single-malt whisky and Kombucha. As much as I like them, I feel no impulse to combine them. Quite the opposite, in fact. So there’s my closed mind.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “A matter of tastes

  1. C.M. Mayo says:

    How about New Jersey honeys? And a selection of honey books. There must be some unusual honeys in the area. Any from the Pine Barrens?

Leave a Reply

