Cat people

The Author was in a pretty snippy mood. Not at me, fortunately, but at his publisher. The Author’s last book, the debut of a new series, had been out for the better part of the year but was still not available in a  Kindle edition. The second book in the series was being prepped for publication, and the Author was pissed off about the cover, which was dominated by a cat.

“I called them up and I told them there isn’t a cat in the book,” the Author groused. “They told me, ‘Cats sell.’ I told them I didn’t care, there was no cat in the book. So they told me to put one in.”

“That’s all it took?” I asked. “One mention of a cat?”

“I hate cats,” the Author said. “I wouldn’t write a book with cats in it.”

“Maybe you could make it a Schrodinger kind of cat,” I suggested. “You could write a scene with a box, and the cat is inside it either alive or dead.”

We batted that one around for a bit. Then the Author said, “So my agent called me and said, ‘Just put the damned cat in.’ I told them I’d put the cat in as soon as the first book went up on Kindle. So now the book is on Kindle and I wrote in the cat.”

In some ways, the scenario reminded me of the scene in Tootsie where Dustin Hoffman and Sydney Pollack argue about the motivation of a tomato. But that’s publishing for you.

2 thoughts on “Cat people

  1. Hey, some really interesting points you have posted. Good technical blogs are hard to find . I want to use some of the articles from your blog with a link. Reply here if you don’t issue. Good day!

  2. Corina Bick says:

    To work with pre made resources or not? That is a question that creative people asks themselves from time to time. Even if you’re an experienced artist, sometimes the deadlines are just too brief, or that spark of inspiration did not affect yet. Awkward, there are many of solutions available. In the ocean of pre-made graphic and designs that one may down load and use for his needs, one author sticks out. A fast growing Scarab13 Design Resource Web site is a template nirvana, packed with custom, exclusive data files (all designed by Scarab13), where literally anyone can find something they require. Via Photoshop tutorials, backgrounds, activities, brushes – to some more advanced posters, fashion magazines, mock-ups and banners – it’s all here and able to download. While one of the most popular Envato authors, Scarab13 has mastered the skill of designing creative documents (in all topics/genres), data that are complex in their technical execution, but very simple in their usage, being geared toward users who may or may have not know about Photoshop; thus are simple to operate & modify and tweak in minutes, going out of you with some very professional and beautiful designs for Print, Web, Cell, TV, and all other outlets. (also related: downloadsoho. com, scaryposter. com, creativeartmarket. com)

Leave a Reply

