Big Brother knows what I like

Big Brother’s steady incursions into my privacy have had one beneficial effect: whenever I go to a website with those ads for the zZounds music store, I get bombarded with images of Les Paul-style electric guitars, both of the Epiphone and Gibson varieties. That’s because, for me, guitar ads are the same thing as Page Six girls, and I can’t resist looking even though I can’t afford any of them.

What’s impressive to me is that whatever programming thingy is used on the ads remembers my predilections so thoroughly: the images are always those great, womanly-shaped Les Paul models, even the lower-priced numbers Ibanez puts out. (Look at this Artist model and tell me you don’t want to give it a try.) Only once did I accidentally click on a Fender model, which meant Strats and Teles were sown through the Les Pauls for a while, but now they’re pretty much gone. I can’t deny the appeal of a Stratocaster, but Big Brother knows what makes my heart go pitter-pat.

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Big Brother knows what I like

  1. […] Gere Selling GuitarsThe Rock Album That Made Me Pick GuitarQuotable Country – 08/29/11 EditionBig Brother knows what I likeWe Stand With Gibson Guitars Rally Oct. 8 (via Nice Deb)Richard Gere Selling GuitarsThe Rock Album […]

  2. […] One Protesting KittyLove in the Form of a Guitar and One Protesting KittyGuitar Strings in the SnowBig Brother knows what I likeLove in the Form of a Guitar and One Protesting KittyLove in the Form of a Guitar and One Protesting […]

  3. […] At Lollapalooza. Boooo!Remembering Les PaulLove in the Form of a Guitar and One Protesting KittyBig Brother knows what I like #content-body,x:-moz-any-link{float:left;margin-right:28px;}#content-body, x:-moz-any-link, […]

Leave a Reply

