Run like hell

Too bad about those cheesy White Walkers at the end, but otherwise the second season of Game of Thrones ended on a pretty high note. I always wondered what the St. Crispian’s Day speech would have been like if Henry V’s inspiration hadn’t been firing on all ten cylinders, and now I know — as does Theon Greyjoy, whose future is going to be extremely grey with very little joy. Like Sansa Stark, he’s about to learn that in George R.R. Martin’s universe, the only sensible response to a reversal of fortune is to run like hell.

One of the side benefits of the HBO series is that its quality inspired me to return to Martin’s novels. I’d enjoyed the hell out of the first three books, but  A Feast for Crows taxed my patience well past the breaking point, so when A Dance with Dragons came out last year I shrugged and figured I’d get around to it. I jumped with both feet a couple of weeks ago found Dance to be pretty much a return to form, though the title verges on false advertising. The Winds of Winter better have some pretty hot dragon action to make up for this latest tease.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

