Dumb clucks

So, Mike Huckabee has ordained that today is Chick-Fil-A Appreciation Day? Cool! I’ll order a pizza.

While it’s certainly refreshing to see American conservatives showing an awareness of, much less a concern for, any Constitutional amendment besides the second one,  I’m afraid the chicken wingers lining up outside those hen-hacking stations are, as per usual, not just missing the point but strenuously avoiding it.

Nobody is disputing the right of the company’s president, Dan Cathy, to say that legalizing same-sex marriages opens America up to God’s wrath. Goodness gracious, no — in fact, I encourage him to speak his mind freely. He can take his place alongside Pat Robertson, Jerry Falwell, and Osama bin Laden on the executive board of the “America Had It Coming On 9/11” club. Ditto his use of company profits to support anti-gay hate groups. Speak up, fella. Let everybody know what a bigoted creep you are, and decide if they want to help by spending money on your crummy food. 

The First Amendment enshrines the right to express all sorts of opinions. What it doesn’t do is mandate that others agree with those opinions. If Dan Cathy wants to pretend his hatred is an expression of Christian love, he is free to do so, just as I am free to ridicule him as a medieval-minded loon. I am also free to share with others my contempt for his degraded notions, and ask them if they want to give their bucks to creepy clucks.

So speak your mind, Dan Cathy, I say. And take comfort from the fact that I have no wish to give my mockery the force of law. Would that the same were true for you and your bigotry.  

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Dumb clucks

  1. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is
    added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way
    you can remove people from that service? Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

